Rick James is an American singer-songwriter, musician and record producer who began his musical career in his teenage years. He formed the rock band the Mynah Birds, who eventually signed a recording deal with Motown Records. In 2021, James was the subject of a documentary film ‘Bitchin’: The Sound and Fury of Rick James’ directed by Sacha Jenkins that was produced and broadcast by Showtime.

Birth Name

James Ambrose Johnson Jr.


Rick James


Singer, Musician, Record Producer, Dancer


Vocals, Bass guitar, Guitar, keyboards, Drums, Percussion


Gordy, Reprise, A&M, Mercury


R&B, Soul, Funk, Rock music, Disco, Doo-Wop, Post Disco



Personal Life

Birthday / Date of Birth

Rick James was born on the 1st of February 1948, in Buffalo, New York, United States.


Rick James died on the 6th of August 2004, in Los Angeles, California, United States at the age of 56.

Sun Sign








Rick James attended Bennett High School prior to dropping out.

Family Details

  • Father – James Ambrose Johnson Sr. (Autoworker)
  • Mother – Mabel (Dancer)
  • Siblings – Unknown

Marital Status


Girlfriend / Spouse

Rick James has dated –

  • Syville Morgan – James had two children with Syville Morgan, a former singer and songwriter. They had a daughter, Tyenza, and a son, Rick Jr.
  • Linda Blair (1982-1984) – James dated actress Linda Blair from 1982 to 1984. They met after James read an interview where Blair called him sexy. He contacted her and spent time getting to know the actress during a short stint living at the Chateau Marmont in Hollywood.
  • Tanya Hijazi (1997-2002) – In 1989, James met 17-year-old party-goer Tanya Hijazi. The two began a romance in 1990. In 1993, the couple had their only child and James’s youngest, Tazman. Following their respective releases from prison for assaulting Mary Sauger and Frances Alley, they married in 1996 and divorced in 2002.

Physical Statistics


  • In feet – 6 feet 0 inches
  • In centimeters – 182 cm
  • In meters – 1.82 m


  • In Kilograms – 80 kg
  • In Pounds – 176 lbs

Body Build


Eye Color


Hair Color




Professional Statistics

Famous For

James became known for his massive funk hits Super Freak and Give It to Me Baby. This riveting performer brought with him an aura of brilliance and when he performed on stage he mesmerized audiences with his adrenaline-charged, exhilarating performances.

Rick James Net worth

Rick James has an estimated net worth of 25 million dollars as of 2023.

Some Lesser Known Facts About Rick James

  • In 1978, Rick came up with his debut album titled, Come Get It! which played a major role in launching his solo career in the music industry. The album also featured the hit disco number, You and I.
  • In 1979, he released his second album, Bustin’ Out of L Seven, which was released under the Gordy Records label. The album included the hit R&B track, Bustin’ Out.
  • On October 16, 1979, James came out with his third album, Fire It Up which was a moderate success. The album featured the tracks, Fire It Up, Love Gun and Lovin You Is a Pleasure.
  • In 1980, his fourth album, Garden of Love featured the tracks, Big Time, Don’t Give Up On Love and Island Lady. The album was a success.
  • In 1981, he came out with the concept album, Street Songs which was one of his most successful albums. The album featured the hit tracks, Give It to Me Baby and Super Freak.
  • In 1982, his album, Throwin’ Down was released. The album received a gold certification but was not as popular as his previous album, Street Songs.
  • In 1983, he came out with the album, Cold Blooded released under the Gordy Records label. The album featured the tracks, U Bring The Freak Out and New York Town.
  • In 1986, his album, The Flag was released. The album included the tracks, Sweet and Sexy Thing, Freak Flag, R U Experienced, Funk in Amerika / Silly Little Man and Slow and Easy Interlude.
  • In 1988, he released his album, Wonderful under the Reprise Records label. The album included one of his most famous and hit songs, Loosey’s Rap.
  • In 1997, James came out with his final album titled, Urban Rapsody which was released under the Mercury Records and Private-I Records label. The album received mixed reviews.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

three × three =